Servos

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Servos

I'm a bit new to servos. Right now I'm just testing a little code. I'm running a PIC16LF1823 at 8 Mhz with Xtal (define OSC 8). I get that a servo wants to see a certain size pulse but all the code I've looked at confuses me unless there's something about servos I simply don't know. And what that is is I can't see how (from the code I've looked at) to initialize the servos bearings, meaning the code I've seen says something like go to 'center' of rotation, or go right or left but I don't see how the servo knows where it is start point is. Unless all servos go to 'center' when shutting down which in some ways doesn't seem possible.

The other thing I need to figure out is how to translate necessary pulse widths due to the fact that the 16LF1823's response for instance to a Pause commands is to make it 8 times longer than most other PICS (and also I'm running the PIC at 8Mhz.
    Any input is appreciated.

Keith55555, A normal NON Digital servo works on the difference in pulse width. Centered the servo should be getting approx. 1500 Microseconds of a high pulse. At approx. -90 degrees the servo is expecting about 1000 Microseconds. Then at +90 degrees the servo is expecting about 2000 Microseconds. The update time (period) should be approx. 20 Milliseconds (50 Hz.). With a period longer than this the servo will become unstable as it is trying to integrate the pulse width. There is a program I wrote some time ago which is able to operate 2 servos. I will see if I can find it and post it or, you can just search the forum as I believe it is posted here.
    Dave Purola,
    N8NTA
    EN82fn

Comment

Thanks David. I'd really like to see that. The thing worrying me the most is the translation of the proper pulse width to my choice in PICs (16LF1823) because I'm not sure if the calls like 'pause' being 8 times normal delay effect the numbers I'll enter.